You are here

Dr. Johannes Penner

Contact

Fax: +49 (0)30 2093 - 8814

Museum für Naturkunde
Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions- und Biodiversitätsforschung
Invalidenstraße 43
10115 Berlin
Deutschland

Dr. Johannes Penner

Research

Current Research (Herpetology)

Macroecology of West African Amphibians

The biogeography of West African amphibians is analysed on different levels (communities to species to beta diversity), with different tools (multivariate statistics & modelling) and views (niches & distributions). The patterns are compared to other organism groups and general patterns are sought. These are compared to current conservation schemes (protected areas) and possible threats (e.g. Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis). The niche modelling approach is extended into the future to evaluate the impact of different climate change scenarios.

This work was part of the BIOTA West project. At the MfN it is located within the working group of Mark-Oliver Rödel and cross linked with other projects. Parts of the work are conducted in collaboration with the Technical University Berlin with support from the HPI Future SOC Lab in Postdam and the Humboldt University Berlin.

Ecology & taxonomy of West African amphibians & reptiles

- Various projects on single genera and species, e.g. Atheris, Dipsadoboa, Varanus, selected snake, lizard, frog and turtle species).

Current Research (EU BON)

EU BON - "Building the European Biodiversity Observation Network" aims at further continuing the contribution of the European Union to the work of the "Group on Earth Observation’s Biodiversity Observation Network (GEO BON)" and start a "European Bidiversity Portal". The main aim is to collect, process, and analyse information on status of biodiversity (past, current & future), thereby making it easier accessible for IPBES ("Intergovernmental science-policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services").

Within the framework of the project I am involved in three work packages. They are concerned with enhancement and developement of new tools (WP3) and analyses of biodiversity data (WP4). In addition I contribute to the conception of expanding the observation network (test sites). Furthermore, I co-lead the task-force on remote sensing and contribute to the development of a business plan.

This work is located within the working group of Christoph Häuser and also cross-linked with other projects therein.

Further projects

- Conservation & utilisation of the Ball Python (Python regius) in Benin

- Various smaller projects on ecology and distribution of West African amphibians and reptiles (e.g. on the genera Atheris, Dipsadoboa, Varanus, selected frog and turtle species)

- Conservation & microhabitat selection of the European adder (Vipera berus) in the Spessart (Germany) (Project terminated)

Field work

Current: Côte d'Ivoire (2015: Marahoué), Liberia (2010-2013: Counties: Bong, Grand Cedeh, Nimba & Sinoe)

Past: Australia (2004: Kioloa), Benin (2005-2007: Pendjari NP, Lokoli Forest & Lama Forest, area north of Porto Novo), Burkina Faso (2005: Bontioli NP & area around Dano), Cameroon (2007: Mt. Manengouba), Côte d'Ivoire (2002: Taï NP), Demokratic Republic Congo (2004: Lokutu), Germany (2001-2008: Spessart & Steigerwald), Guinea (2011: Mt. Yonon & Mt. Going), Madagascar (2003: Kirindy Forest), Namibia (2005 & 2014: whole country along climate gradient), USA (2002: Arizona)

Sie sind hier

Dr. Johannes Penner

Kontakt

Fax: +49 (0)30 2093 - 8814

Museum für Naturkunde
Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions- und Biodiversitätsforschung
Invalidenstraße 43
10115 Berlin
Deutschland

Dr. Johannes Penner

Forschung

Aktuelle Forschung (Herpetologie)

Makroökologie westafrikanischer Amphibien

Die Biogeographie westafrikanischer Amphibien wird auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen (Gemeinschaften bis Arten bis Beta Diversität), mit unterschiedlichen Werkzeugen (Multivariate Statistik & Modellierungen) und unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen (Nischen, Verbreitungen & "Functional Traits") untersucht. Die Muster werden anschließend mit denen anderer Organismengruppen verglichen und allgemeine Aussagen gesucht. Dies wird dann mit aktuellen Schutzstrategien (Schutzgebieten) und möglichen Bedrohungen (z. Bsp. Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis) verglichen. Zusätzlich werden die Nischenmodelle extrapoliert, um mit Hilfe verschiedener Klimawandelszenarien abschätzen zu können, wie zukünftige Entwicklungen aussehen könnten.

Diese Arbeit war Teil des BIOTA West Projektes und ist am MfN in der AG Rödel angesiedelt und dort mit weiteren Projekten vernetzt. Teile der Arbeit werden in Kooperation mit der TU Berlin, mit Unterstützung des HPI Future SOC Lab in Potsdam und der Humboldt Universität Berlin durchgeführt.

Ökologie & Taxonomie westafrikanischer Amphibien & Reptilien

Verschiedene Projekte mit einzelnen Gattungen und Arten, bspw. Atheris, Dipsadoboa, Varanus und ausgewählten Schlangen-, Echsen-, Frosch- und Schildkrötenarten).

Aktuelle Forschung (EU-BON)

Biodiversität: Methoden, Analysen & Test Gebiete

EU BON - "Building the European Biodiversity Observation Network" hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt den Beitrag der Europäischen Union zur "Group on Earth Observation’s Biodiversity Observation Network (GEO BON)" weiter zu führen und ein "Europäisches Biodiversitätsportal" zu starten. Ziel ist es hauptsächlich Informationen zum Stand der Biodiversität (Vergangenheit, Gegenwart & Zukunft) zu sammeln, aufzubereiten, zu analysieren und damit für IPBES ("Intergovernmental science-policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services") leichter zugänglich zu machen.

Im Rahmen des Projektes bin ich in drei Work Packages beteiligt. Dabei geht es einmal um die Verbesserung und Entwicklung neuer Methoden zur Modellierung (WP3) und Auswertung von Biodiversitätsdaten (WP4). Des Weiteren trage ich zur Eweiterung des Observatorien Netzwerkes (Test Gebiete) bei. Zusätzlich habe ich die Ko-Leitung der Task Force "Fernerkundung" inne und bin in die Entwicklung eines "Business Plans" eingebunden.

Diese Arbeit ist in der AG Häuser angesiedelt und auch dort mit weiteren Projekten vernetzt.

weitere Projekte

- Schutz & Nutzung des Königspython (Python regius) in Benin

- Schutz und Mikrohabitatwahl der Kreuzotter (Vipera berus) im Spessart (Projekt beendet)

Feldarbeit

Aktuell: Côte d'Ivoire (2015: Marahoué), Liberia (2010-2013: Counties: Bong, Grand Cedeh, Nimba & Sinoe)

Vergangenheit: Australien (2004: Kioloa), Benin (2005-2007: Pendjari NP, Lokoli Wald & Lama Wald, Gebiet nördlich von Porto Novo), Burkina Faso (2005: Bontioli NP & Gebiet um Dano), Côte d'Ivoire (2002: Taï NP), Demokratische Republik Kongo (2004: Lokutu), Deutschland (2001-2008: Spessart & Steigerwald), Guinea (2011: Mt. Yonon & Mt. Going), Kamerun (2007: Mt. Manengouba), Madagaskar (2003: Kirindy Wald), Namibia (2005 & 2014: ganzes Land entlang eines Klimagradienten), USA (2002: Arizona)