You are here

Leon Hilgers

Contact

Fax: +49 (0)30 2093 - 8565

Museum für Naturkunde
Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions- und Biodiversitätsforschung
Invalidenstraße 43
10115 Berlin
Deutschland

Leon Hilgers

Tasks
  • Research assistant and PhD candidate in the research group of Dr. Thomas von Rintelen
  • Member of the PhD representatives 
Research

I am interested in ecology and evolution, more specifically in ecological aspects of biological invasions, as well as adaptation and speciation processes. So far my research focused on ecological consequences of an alien fish invasion in Lake Matano (Sulawesi, Indonesia) and trophic resource related adaptation of the invader.

I am currently engaged in a transcriptome sequencing project, which aims to identify candidate genes for a potential evolutionary key trait in freshwater snails - the radula. Therefore, we perform a morph-wise, tissue specific transcriptome analysis of Tylomelania sarasinorum, which exhibits a striking substrate-correlated radula polymorphism.

I have gained experience in morphological and molecular lab methodologies including e.g. X-Ray imaging, REM, immunohistochemistry and NGS, as well as data analysis including multivariate statistics, geometric morphometrics, and multiple tools for transcriptome data analysis including assembly, mapping and differential expression.

Publications (selection)

Hilgers, L., Grau, J. H., Pfaender, J., & von Rintelen, T. (2016). The complete mitochondrial genome of the viviparous freshwater snail Tylomelania sarasinorum (Caenogastropoda: Cerithioidea). Mitochondrial DNA Part B, 1(1), 330-331.

Davies, K. M., Hare, D. J., Cottam, V., Chen, N., Hilgers, L., Halliday, G., Mercer, J. F. B., & Double, K. L. (2013). Localization of copper and copper transporters in the human brain. Metallomics, 5(1), 43-51.

Sie sind hier

Leon Hilgers

Kontakt

Fax: +49 (0)30 2093 - 8565

Museum für Naturkunde
Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions- und Biodiversitätsforschung
Invalidenstraße 43
10115 Berlin
Deutschland

Leon Hilgers

Aufgabengebiete
  • Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand in der Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. Thomas von Rintelen
  • Mitglied der Promovierendenvertretung
Forschung

Ich interessiere mich für Ökologie und Evolution, insbesondere für ökologische Aspekte biologischer Invasionen sowie für Anpassungs- und Artbildungsprozesse. Bisher konzentrierte sich meine Forschung auf ökologische Konsequenzen invasiven Cichliden im Matano-See (Sulawesi, Indonesien) und der trophischen Anpassung dieses Invasors.

Gegenwärtig beschäftige ich mich mit einem Transkriptom-Sequenzierungsprojekt, das Kandidatengene für die Ausprägung eines potenziellen evolutionären Schlüsselmerkmals – der Radula – identifizieren soll. Aus diesem Grund führen wir ökomorph- und gewebespezifische Transkriptom-Analysen an Tylomelania sarasinorum durch, die einen markanten Substrat-korrelierten Radula-Polymorphismus aufweist. 

Ich habe Erfahrung in morphologischen und molekularen Labormethoden einschließlich Röntgenbildgebung, REM, Immunhistochemie und NGS (Next Generation Sequencing) sowie Datenanalyse mit multivariater Statistik, geometrischer Morphometrie und verschiedenen Anwendungen für die Transkriptom-Datenanalyse einschließlich Assemblierung, Mapping und differentieller Expression.

Publikationen (Auswahl)

Hilgers, L., Grau, J. H., Pfaender, J., & von Rintelen, T. (2016). The complete mitochondrial genome of the viviparous freshwater snail Tylomelania sarasinorum (Caenogastropoda: Cerithioidea). Mitochondrial DNA Part B, 1(1), 330-331.

Davies, K. M., Hare, D. J., Cottam, V., Chen, N., Hilgers, L., Halliday, G., Mercer, J. F. B., & Double, K. L. (2013). Localization of copper and copper transporters in the human brain. Metallomics, 5(1), 43-51.